Healthy Muffins For Babies

I think I’ve mentioned before that Baby Z is quite the independent eater and is much happier when he is feeding himself. We find that when he has finger foods he is a happy and content baby and we can all eat dinner together as one big happy family. I started doing some research about what’s referred to as Baby Led Weaning (BLW) which is basically a fancy name for letting babies feed themselves from the very beginning of eating solids (you can read more about it here). I’m neither for nor against this idea but it made me feel much better about only giving Baby Z finger foods to eat knowing that others are doing it too. That being said I am running out of recipe ideas and I’m sure Mr. Man must be tired of the foods I’m giving him (I’m tired of my own cooking these days so he must be too).  Baby Z is 9 months old now and eating a wide variety of food and since I dug my muffin tin out the other day for our Muffin Tin Sorting activity I have been wanting to make some baby friendly muffins. I found this awesome recipe for Carrot Banana Muffins that could be made with breastmilk (or formula) and also included iron enriched baby cereal (making sure Baby Z gets enough iron consumes my meal planning). Anyway here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg (or 2 egg yolks if you are steering clear of egg whites)
  • 1/2 cup oil (I subsituted with 1/2 cup of homemade applesauce)
  • 1 apple, peeled cored and grated
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 1 cup self raising flour (I used whole wheat)
  • 1/2 cup some sort of iron enriched baby porridge
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 2 tablespoons breast milk (or formula or whole milk)

Directions:

  1. Whisk egg and oil (or applesauce)
  2. Mix flour, porridge and cinnamon
  3. Add apple and carrot to dry ingredients and stir
  4. Mash up banana
  5. Add milk to banana mash
  6. Add milky banana mixture and oil (or applesauce) mixture to the flour mixture
  7. Spoon into lined muffin tins
  8. Bake at 180C/350F for 30 to 40 minutes

This recipe makes a dozen muffins or 2 dozen mini muffins!

I wasn’t keen about putting oil in the muffins so I did some research and found out you can substitute applesauce for oil. So I quickly made some applesauce (here’s the recipe) and made Frozen Applesauce Bites with the leftovers. Once they were finished baking I covered them and let them sit overnight. They aren’t the prettiest muffins but that doesn’t matter – you’ll be tearing them into bite sized pieces for your little ones anyway!

baby muuffins

This morning I placed Baby Z in his highchair and broke up the muffins into bite sized pieces. He gobbled them right up , eating 1 and 1/2 muffins (hungry boy!). I felt really good about giving him these muffins to start the day as the fruits, vegetables and iron were all present and I felt good about every ingredient in them. I will definitely be making these again (perhaps with zucchini and sweet potato?).

7 thoughts on “Healthy Muffins For Babies

  1. Pingback: The local baker was paying his staff based on a flourly rate. | crumbsoffthetable

  2. I am so excited to find this recipe – my little girl just turned 9 months old and only wants to feed herself. I will be making these tonight!

  3. Pingback: Healthy Muffin Recipes For Babies – about food and health

  4. Hi. Great recipe. You mentioned trying zucchini and sweet potato….. Which two I ingredients would that replace? Apple, carrot or banana?
    TIA,
    Rebecca

Leave a Reply

