Smoothie Popsicles

I love being outside and I truly believe that the best place for a kid to be is in the great outdoors. Don’t get me wrong, we have our share of indoor days but most of the time I do my best to get Baby Z and myself outside everyday. Earlier this week Baby Z woke up from his nap at his great grandparents house and we ceaselessly tried to amuse him in the living room to no avail. That’s when we decided to throw on our coats and shoes and head outside. He was a completely different kid! Baby Z perked right up, began exploring and laughing and just having the time of his life – reaffirming for me that being out in the fresh air is the best thing for him.

Given that it is summer right now and it should be getting warm one of these days I started thinking about refreshing foods to give Baby Z outside. The first thing that came to mind was Popsicle’s, but not ones full of sugar, I wanted some with substance and nutrients, which is when I decided to make smoothie Popsicle’s. I picked up some short Popsicle molds at Wal-mart for $1 which are great because they are small enough for Baby Z to handle easily. Earlier this week I went on a fruit shopping frenzy and pretty much bought every type of fruit Superstore and T&T (a local Asian supermarket) had (seriously!!). There is no end to what kind of smoothies you could make but here are the three recipe’s I used.

smoothie popsicle collage blog

Glorious Green Smoothie

  • 1 cup fresh spinach
  • 1/2 cup ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup hami melon (a delicious asian melon that is like a cross between honeydew and cantaloupe, both of which could be used as a substitute)
  • 1/4 cup full fat greek yogurt (you could also use expressed breastmilk or formula)

Blushing Blue Smoothie

  • 3/4 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 cup pears
  • 1/4 cup watermelon
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt (you could also use expressed breastmilk or formula)

Ravishingly Red Smoothie

  • 1 cup strawberries
  • 2/3 cup ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup dragonfruit

All you need to do is blend your fruits until they are nice and smooth and then pour them in the Popsicle molds. What did I do with the extras? I made bigger Popsicle’s for the adults – YAY!!! I left them in the freezer overnight and checked on them in the morning and they were perfect!

I waited until it was nice and warm in our backyard (we are south facing and it gets VERY hot quite easily), took off his shirt (for the mess) and handed him a smoothie Popsicle. As you can see he loved it…absolutely loved it. I tried one too and I will definitely be making more of these – they are delicious and no sugar!!!

So there you have it, a delicious outdoor summer treat for the little ones and the big ones. What are your favorite smoothie recipes?

3 thoughts on “Smoothie Popsicles

  1. Pingback: Mewaspadai Bahaya BPA di Kemasan Plastik :: Sehat :: Readersdigest.co.id

  2. Pingback: Smoothie popsicles… yum! | Gr8ful Bugger

Leave a Reply

