Homemade Goldfish Crackers

Baby Z and I have been attending a class at our local library and during snack time he was introduced to goldfish crackers for the first time and loved them. So last week I was grocery shopping and I passed the cracker aisle and those cute little fish caught my eye. They even had coloured goldfish that were naturally flavored!!!  Of course I picked them up but what I failed to notice until I got home was the fairly high sodium content. So I did a quick search for a goldfish crackers recipe, hoping it wouldn’t be too difficult to make my own healthier version.  I found a ton of recipe’s with simple straight forward ingredients, little salt and seemingly simple directions.

All I needed was a cookie cutter. I found this one online for only $3.99 but I wanted to make these NOW! That’s when I came across this recipe that included a tutorial for making your own cookie/cracker cutter using pop cans. It was actually really easy to make it and only took one failure before I made one that looked enough like a goldfish to pass. Then I set out to make the actual cracker and here’s the recipe:

cookie cutter.jpeg

INGREDIENTS

  • 8 ounces, weight Sharp Cheddar Cheese, Shredded
  • 4 Tablespoons Butter, Cut Into Cubes (I used unsalted butter to keep the salt content even lower)
  • 1 cup Flour (Next time I would like to try whole wheat flour)
  • ¾ teaspoons Salt
  • 2 Tablespoons Cold Water

ingredients.jpeg

DIRECTIONS

  • Combine the cheese, butter, flour and salt in a food processor and pulse until it looks like coarse salt.
  • Add 1 tablespoon of water at a time
  • Then bring all the dough together, wrap it in plastic and put it in the fridge for 20mins
  • Roll the dough out and cut out desired shapes (you could use anything or even just do little squares)
  • Bake at 350 degrees F for about 15 minutes

goldfish.jpeg

It was all pretty easy to make and since I waited until baby Z was asleep I actually found it kinda therapeutic to make these while unwinding after a fairly long day. When they finished cooking I put them all in a tupperware container and now I just have to wait until tomorrow to see how baby Z likes them, but if not that’s okay because momma sure does…yumm!

Note: I made eyes and smiles on half the fish, you just need to use a toothpick to make the faces.

One thought on “Homemade Goldfish Crackers

Leave a Reply

