Tapioca Slime

I had seen some posts online for homemade slime but the ingredients were not something I wanted baby Z to put in his mouth and I knew he would try and eat the slime if I put it in front of him. Then I stumbled on this great post for  a “Monster Jelly Slime Bowl” and it was exactly what I was looking for.

Funnily enough the author of that blog had planned to use Jell-O but it never set so in a desperate attempt to put something together she tried tapioca…brilliant!!

The ingredients are simple – tapioca mix and food colouring. Since I didn’t plan for baby Z to eat this (although I knew some of it would end up in his mouth) I decided to use fake food colouring for this one. I had picked up a set of neon colours the other day and what screams slime better than neon green?

green slime

I put a good amount of tapioca into a pot, added some water and brought to a boil. I simply added water or tapioca powder to get the desired consistency. Then I poured it into the bin I wanted baby Z to play in and let it cool. Once cooled, I added some plastic dollar store snakes (because green slime and snakes just seemed right) and set him out to play.

As you can see from the picture, baby Z really enjoyed himself. Of course he tried to eat it but didn’t much like the taste (neither did I) so he just oozed it through his little fingers, tried to pick it up and smooshed the snakes around. Cleanup was a breeze too, none of the slime ended up outside the bin so all I had to do was wash baby Z’s hands and rinse out the bin.

Such a simple sensory play activity! Loved it.

2 thoughts on “Tapioca Slime

  1. Great idea! You do so many neat things with your little one, looking forward to stealing some of these ideas. Glad I stumbled on your blog, keep up the good work.

  2. Pingback: 10 Simple Steps to Make Green Slime! | Sandra Bennett - Author

Leave a Reply

