Oatmeal Playdough

So in case you didn’t already know, baby Z is not the best sleeper and last night was no exception. So as I nursed him at 2am I used my free hand to surf Pinterest on my phone. That’s when I stumbled upon this recipe for oatmeal play dough – I knew something good could come from being awake at 2 in the morning!

Baby Z is still at that stage where everything goes in his mouth, literally everything!!! We got a ton of playdough at Christmas but baby Z is still too young to play with it (because it would just end up in his belly).  So when I saw the recipe for oatmeal playdough I knew I was going to try it.  The next day when baby Z was taking a nap I grabbed the ingredients and mixed it together.

  • 1 c four
  • 2 c oats
  • 1c water
  • food colouring {I made my own food colouring again for this one – to see how to do it check out my other post or this great website}

Once I was finished making it and adding the colour I refrigerated it until baby Z woke up from his nap. When we were all ready to play I put him in his highchair and set the three different coloured playdough in front of him. He dug in right away and started to break pieces off to put in his mouth. It must have tasted pretty good because he was more interested in eating it than exploring it. I think this activity would be much better for a slightly older baby who isn’t so obsessed with putting things in their mouths but it was still fun. When we were finished playing I wrapped the playdough up in cling wrap and put it in an airtight container in the fridge for another day!

oatmeal playdough

One thought on “Oatmeal Playdough

Leave a Reply

